Home » Blog » Structure of the Indian Government

Structure of the Indian Government

Want to know the structure of the Indian Government? How the Government of India is divided and which part is most powerful? You are in the right place to learn and understand the structure of the Indian Government.

Structure of the Indian Government

India became independent from British rule on 1947 August 15. After independence, people demanded democratic rule in India. That is why India adopted the parliamentary and democratic system. For which a constitution was formed for united India. As per the Constitution of India, India is the combination of states. So you will get two types of Government in any place in India. These are:

  • Central Government
  • State Government

Central Government

Central Government is the supreme Government in the structure of the Indian Government. It makes laws and rules all over the country. When it comes to making laws for the whole of India, then the central government makes laws.

State Government

State Government works only on a specific state. As per the structure of the state Government, it only makes laws and rules for the specific state. The law and rule made by any state government will not be applied in another state.

We will discuss more regarding State and Central Government jobs and work later. Now let us discuss the structure of the Indian Government.

Understand the structure of the Government of India

The constitution of India was built with three organs and these three parts were given their respective functions and powers. These three organs are as follows:

  1. Legislature
  2. Executive
  3. Judiciary

When these three organs get connected, we can say the complete package of Government or Structure of Government.

1) Legislature

The work of the legislature in India is to make, modify, and remove laws, rules, and regulations for the benefits of Indian people. As stated above the structure of the Indian Government is two types. So you will also get two types of the legislature for both the Government.

  • Parliament House
  • Assembly House

Parliament House

Parliament House is the head of the legislative system. Parliament House has the only power to create law and rules at the Central level. It creates laws and rules for the whole of India and all the states have to obey all the rules compulsory. It is located in New Delhi. Parliament house is divided into two houses. These are:

  • Loksabha House
  • Rajyasabha House

Assembly House

  • State Legislative Assembly
  • Legislative Council House

Assembly house is the second legislature in the Indian constitution. Assembly house has the power to create laws and rules for their respective state. Assembly house has limited power to create laws. It is located in the respective state’s capital. In some states, the Assembly house is divided like Parliament into two houses. These are:

2) Executive

This part of the Government plays a vital role. It passes the bill in the legislature and executes the passed bill or law in each part of the country or state. In India, you will find two types of Executive. The first one is the Central level and state level executive.

In central level executive, President is the head of the Country and Vice-President is under the president. The Prime minister is the third head of this system and the Council of Ministers is the fourth level of our country. In our, constitution President is the head of our Country while Prime Minister has the supreme Power.

Similarly in State level executive is the Governor is the head of state. It is assumed that the Governor is the head of state while the Chief Minister is the real head of that state. The Governor is appointed by President while the Chief Minister has more power than Governor.

To understand the executive structure just analyze the diagram.

3) Judiciary

Judiciary is one of the protectors of the constitution. The work of the Judiciary is to check whether there is any illegal or un-constitutional happened or not. It also checks the bill and law made in the legisl ature. If anything wrong happens then Judiciary rectifies it.

The head and main level of Judiciary is the Supreme Court. The head of the Supreme court is Chief Justice of India. Supreme Courte solves all cases from the High Court.

The second phase of the Judiciary is the High Court. The high court solves all the cases at the state level.

The third phase of the Judiciary is the District level Judiciary. It solves district-level cases.

Important Information

  • The law passed and created by Parliament can not be declined by any state assembly.
  • If a bill or law passed by Parliament house and the same type of opposite bill is passed in any state assembly then finally the Parliament Bill or Act will be implemented
  • If any miss understanding happens between state and Center then President and Supreme Courte can interfere between them and solve the issue

This is the whole details about the structure of the Indian Government. What is your feedback regarding this topic please share it in the comment section.

Final Word

Finally, the Structure of the Indian Government is very democratic. The Constitution of India gives you freedom of speech, freedom of life. You will not get such type of democratic structural Government in the world. I am proud to be an Indian.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *