Cricket World Cup Winner, Runners up and Venue list

Cricket World Cup Winner, Runners up and Venue list

Cricket World Cup: Cricket World Cup is one of the most popular sports events in the world. In this post, we have mentioned all the Cricket World Cup Winner, Runners up and Venue list in details.

Cricket world Cup Winner List

Welcome Back to the new post of India Gk. Today we are going to discuss the Winner List of  Cricket World Cup winner list. As you know that ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 has been started at Englan. Now India is in a great position in the world Cup. Tomorrow India is going to play the Semifinal match with NewzLand.

Important Points to be Remembered about Cricket

  • Full Form of ICC: International Cricket Council
  • Headquarters of ICC: Dubai (UAE)
  • Chair Person of ICC: Shashank Manohar
  • Establishment of ICC: 15th June 1909
  • Number of Members: 105
  • 1st International Match was played between Canada v/s USA on 24th and 25th of September 1844.
  • 1st International Test Match was played between Australia V/s England in 1877.
  • The 1st World Cup was played at England in 1975.
  • 1975 World Cup name: Prudential Cup Trophy

Also, Take a Look at the post Foot Ball World Cup Winner List

Cricket World Cup Winner List

World Cup YearHost NationWinnerRunners UpTrophy Name
1975EnglandWest IndiesAustraliaPrudential Cup
1979EnglandWest IndiesEnglandPrudential Cup '79
1983EnglandIndiaWest IndiesPrudential Cup '83

1987India and PakistanAustraliaEnglandReliance Cup 1987
1992Australia and New ZealandPakistanEnglandBenson & Hedges World Cup 1992
1996Pakistan, India, Sri LankaSri LankaAustraliaWills World Cup 1996
1999England, Wales, Ireland, Scotland and NetherlandsAustraliaPakistanICC Cricket World Cup '99
2003South Africa, Zimbabwe and KenyaAustraliaIndia2003 ICC Cricket World Cup
2007West IndiesAustraliaSri Lanka2007 ICC Cricket World Cup
2011India, Sri Lanka, BangladeshIndiaSri Lanka2011 ICC Cricket World Cup
2015Australia and New ZealandAustraliaNew Zealand2015 ICC Cricket World Cup
2019England and WalesIndiaAustralia2019 ICC Cricket World Cup
20232023 ICC Cricket World Cup


  1. Kapil Dev was the Captain of India when India won the World Cup first time in 1983.
  2. MS Dhoni was the Captain of India when India won the world cup second time in 2011.
  3. MS Dhoni was the first captain in the world who won the World Cup in Home Condition.
  4. MS Dhoni is one of the most successful Captain of India who has won all formats of Cricket World Cup (T20 and ODI).

Questions From World Cup

[wp_quiz_pro id=”378″]


Leave a Reply